She Should Write, and She Does

17 Mar

Everyone writes for different reasons. Some people have an innate, natural ability to form words together and create beauty. Some people use it as a tool to reach an audience of readers and share their thoughts and imagination. I write because I don’t know how not to.

I decided I wanted to be a writer in elementary school, and specifically chose to take the path of journalism when I was in the fifth grade. My teacher was an amazing mentor and encouraged me to pursue these dreams. He met with me outside of school to help edit an essay submission for the 2001 Time For Kids journalism contest, and he also coordinated my in person interview with a local retired journalist to be taped for this same contest. Needless to say, I was greatly impacted by the whole experience. I loved asking questions in search of learning a new perspective, and most importantly I loved to write.

Since 10-years-old I’ve been practicing the art of the written word in hopes of one day becoming a professional. It’s been eleven years now, and I don’t think I’m necessarily the cream of the crop in terms of talent, but I work pretty damn hard at improving myself and honing my skill. I was recently inspired to reflect on why I write after reading Ann Friedman’s farewell post on Feministing.com. After months, if not years, of bouncing around the idea in my head of starting my own blog as a space to publicly share my writing, Ann convinced me.

There are two schools of thought when it comes to aspiring writers and the creation of blogs: 1.)You should check out WordPress or Blogspot as a means of getting your name and work out there, and 2.) You shouldn’t contribute to a publication without credibility or payment. The latter ideology is supported by some educators and other professionals in the world of journalism who think that blogging is a waste of energy pending its rewards. It occurred to me that I don’t write for the money or recognition (well, not yet). I write because I love it. It’s my favorite form of communication, and call me a word nerd, but I love seeing countless letters on a page, coming together to compose a life changing article or mind altering essay. This realization finally made me hop off the see-saw in my mind and embark on this journey within the feminist blog-o-sphere.

According to Ann, “I think awesome things would happen if we all started thinking like editors (just a little bit! no career changes necessary, people) and asked to hear women’s perspectives on things. This is 2011. You don’t need an anyone’s permission to write something that a lot of people can read. You just need a little encouragement.”

Thank you, Ann, for officially lighting the fire under my butt to start my very own blog, and a big humongous thanks to the rest who’ve inspired me to write over the years. I’m sure you’ll read more about those specific individuals in my posts. And thank you to my avid followers who always read what I have to say–even if it’s only my Mom, Grandpa, and high school guidance counselor, I appreciate it! Here goes nothing….

3 Responses to “She Should Write, and She Does”

  1. Barb March 31, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    I started writing because of my middle school teacher, too! Go teachers!

  2. grandpere April 1, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    you make me more proud of you every day…keep the dream alive and go for it…..I agree most of the time and I will have a discourse with you when I don’t…

  3. Krystie April 2, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    Thanks pere pere! I’ll always appreciate how we can debate, discuss, and share our ideas with each other. Thanks for all of your support and for reading every single word I write 🙂

Leave a Reply

