I Don’t Watch Women’s College Basketball

5 Apr

Geno Auriemma, Tina Charles, Maya Moore, and President Obama. You know, just chillin.

Last night, the UConn men’s basketball team made history and won the NCAA National Championship title against Butler. This was a significant feat for quite a few reasons: Jim Calhoun is now the oldest coach to lead a team to this honorable victory; UConn has joined the ranks of teams like UCLA and DUKE by holding three national titles; all of my hometown friends have the opportunity to gloat over their school’s well deserved defeat.

Even though I’ll bleed orange until my last breath, I was ultimately happy to see my home state pull this off. I wasn’t thrilled to see my competition beat us in the Big East Tournament, but it’s difficult not to respect a team who won 11 straight games and proved that it truly was their year. I followed every single game of the March Madness tournament, and that’s where the problem starts.

The NCAA Women’s Basketball tournament doesn’t receive nearly as much airtime, press, or attention; it’s simply not a social norm among my group of friends, at least, or anyone I know for that matter. None of my friends gather together to watch women’s games, I rarely hear dialogue from dudes around female statistics and notable plays, and if I have to hear from the mouth of one more boy, “The only good women’s team is UConn, the rest suck,” I’ll probably scream. The UConn women are indeed amazing, but they’re sure as hell not the only talented women basketball players.

Lacey getting her cheer on.

There are some who are trying to break the mold, however. My good friend from high school, Lacey Mazzilli, is a UConn cheerleader and had the choice of going on the road with the men’s or women’s basketball team. She elected to follow the UConn women all the way to the final four, her logic being the women had a better chance of going further and she’d be able to witness history. Despite their insane undefeated record of 90 consecutive wins, making college (men’s and women’s) basketball history, they weren’t able to beat Notre Dame in the 2011 Final Four. Lacey had the right idea though, when she chose to attend the women’s games over men’s, but she can’t be the only one making these kinds of important decisions. The rest of us crazy sports fans need to follow suit.

The audience disparity for men’s and women’s college basketball is disappointing, especially when apparently the women are responsible for breaking serious records and creating history. It’s people like me, however, who complicate this issue by breeding hypocrisy. I continue to watch men’s basketball and not pay as much attention to women’s basketball. My only defense is that there simply isn’t as much news and media surrounding the women’s league when compared to that of men’s. Regardless, I’m part of the problem; I’m perpetuating this cycle.

The 2011 college basketball season will officially come to a close tonight in Indianapolis when the Notre Dame women’s team challenges Texas A&M. It’s a little late for me to pledge allegiance to women’s college basketball with only one game left this year, but I will watch tonight’s game in support of my fellow females. Some females who, may I add, have way more skill than a lot of dude ballers. I also encourage everyone to be aware of this sucky reality and start watching more women’s basketball. That’s the beauty of time, there’s always next year!

10 Responses to “I Don’t Watch Women’s College Basketball”

  1. Sean April 5, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I definitely agree, but don’t forget the tradition for the Men (since 1939) is very rich and long compared to the Women (since 1982).

  2. Krystie April 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Good point, Sean. That’s an issue in itself, that the men’s league or as you put it, “tradition,” existed 43 years before the women’s college basketball teams. But thanks for your comment!

  3. G.L. Piggy April 6, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    Such a stupid post. You obviously don’t like women’s basketball in the first place, why force yourself just to watch it just because?

  4. Krystie April 6, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    G.L. Piggy, it’s not that I “obviously don’t like women’s basketball.” I’m a fan of basketball in general, and merely suggesting that I women’s basketball doesn’t get as much attention, therefore I don’t pay as much attention myself. Saying I “don’t like women’s basketball” is simply false because a.) I never made that claim, and b.) if I like basketball the sport, why would I dislike watching women play it? Not really fair to say…

  5. bill weikart April 6, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    I actually stumbled into Women’s basketball, ( I know something that’s been around nearly all of my life). Being that my favorite college sports entity is Notre Dame and I am still sexist in many ways(don’t judge me yet, I have been socialized as a sexist for 29 and only have been studying feminism for 2, to prove that I am making a concerted effort, I am investing my undergrad focus to WMS, being only one of the only men majoring at my U. But WM basketball is quite entertaining to me. The energy and athleticism which is displayed on the court is amazing. BTW, watching the men’s championship last night left me thinking it was a nearly impossible task to make a lay-up. The Women’s game was by far more skilled and entertaining, even though ND lost.

  6. Hannah April 6, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Women’s basketball is a difficult thing for me. It’s most popular women’s sport there is, so I want to support it. But I just plain don’t like basketball. I mean, sure, if I’m at a bar in the months between the end of the football season and the beginning of the baseball season (you know, that time of year when I think winter will never end) I’ll watch a basketball game on the tv. But that’s about it. And yet, it almost seems that women’s basketball is my only chance to support women’s sports. I wish that pro softball would be televised, cause I’d seriously watch that. And women’s soccer was never able to capitalize on the success and stardom of 1999. sigh. It’s just frustrating that my only choice is basketball (well, and tennis, which I also don’t love) which is one of my least favorite sports to watch.

  7. Hayley April 7, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    I hate to admit it but if I had Lacey’s choice I would have cheered for the men’s team. In high school the girl’s basketball team didn’t give us, as cheerleaders, the respect we deserved. The boys actually liked having us at games. I realize maybe this doesn’t have to do so much with cheerleading but it’s what I relate to. Maybe my high school team just ruined it for me in general…

  8. Magic Mesh Special Offers December 25, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast provided bright clear idea

  9. xbox xbox 360 emulator download torrent

  10. xbox 360 emulator for pc torrent February 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

    xbox 360 emulator for mac os x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

